Ethnography

Ethnography

November 2, 2014

Court

Driving to the park, I go up this winding road into a neighborhood instead of taking the easier, faster route. I like to play my music, and I don't get to very often, or I barely get through one song before I have arrived at my destination. Everything is very close to everything here.

I get to the parking lot, park, and grab my phone, but not really anything else. I like to walk around, and make laps without a purse or bag weighing down on my shoulder. I haven't really gotten dressed, I Mean I have clothes on but they are just very casual and comfy. I figure it's 8:30 in the morning, and there won't be too many people judging me. I couldn't sleep; this is the only reason I'm awake. I've missed my 9;30 class I want to say around 8 or 9 times because of how much of a night owl I am. I'm still passing with an A, don't worry. It's one of those iclicker classes that you don't really have to go too. One of the most amazing feelings is being awake at the crack of dawn when it is cool and quiet. That's around the time I got to sleep, was around 5;30 AM, and then slept until 7:30, and now I'm here, at the park, at 8;30 AM. Tough night. I had an hour to drink my coffee, and then I finally broke and couldn't stand anymore fidgeting anymore and I went to the park.

I have a light button up over my shirt. I think it would feel cool if I just had my shirt, but right now it's not very cool at all for it being November now in the morning. I'm walking around, following the path that goes through and around the park. I can kind of feel a slight morning breeze on my ears that I love. I love the breeze that you feel during this time of year, then the heat you start to feel when summer breaks through the spring. It's just something that always catches me off guard, I'm never looking for it, but when it happens, I notice it.

There are a group of guys playing basketball on the court. I want to just sit in watch, but I don't want to be creepy. I keep walking, watching a out of the corner of my eye. I think again how that's probably way creepier; lurking and walking around while sort of watching. It's probably a lot more normal to just make it obvious that I am watching them play, so I found a picnic table close by and sat at it. I don't think they've even noticed me. There's 8 guys, 4 per team. I thought they played a lot later in the day, or even late at night, I have a friend that will go from 10;30 to say, midnight to play basketball. Maybe they've just been up all night too. I've had 2 hours of sleep, maybe they haven't slept at all after being out last night and decided to go play. I can see a group of guys going and doing that. They don't really seem like the are playing for practice like they are on a team, So I really don't know why they would be up this early, all of them, to be playing. But I'm glad they are otherwise I couldn't write about anything and I would be here by myself.

No comments:

Post a Comment