My family has a tradition for Halloween. Every Halloween we
all meet for dinner at my aunts and uncles house and then a group of us takes
the little kids to go trick-or-treating. It is a little upsetting for me
because I am too old to trick-or-treat but I enjoy going with my little
cousins, nonetheless. I think trick-or-treating is a time for some very
interesting observations to be made. First of my observing there was traffic
everywhere. I mean, traffic was almost as bad as it is at 8AM when people are
going to work, and this is because instead of people walking their kids from
house to house, they drive them now.
I remember when I was a kid no one trick-or-treated in
Sonoma Ranch because it was such a new neighborhood in Las Cruces. But now, I
can say from recent experience that it is packed full of people
trick-or-treating. And what’s even more irritating is that now-a-days people
drive during trick-or-treating. I could not help but think how ridiculous it
was for people to be driving from house to house trick-or-treating. I think
this just goes to show how lazy people have gotten. On my way to the party I
almost hit 3 different cars because they pulled out in front of me just to go
to another house. Its so ridiculous what people will do for their kids to not
get tired in getting free candy. I realize walking probably wastes more time
than driving 2 feet from house to house, but how much free candy do people
really need? My family and I were walking and gone for about 2 hours and my
cousins’ buckets of candy were filled to the top by the time we were done.
Seriously, what is the point of people driving everywhere for free candy? Just
walk! My family and I have never driven from house to house trick-or-treating
and I think people need to not drive anymore. There are too many people
crossing the streets to get from one house to another. Every time my family and
I would cross a street, there was always a car there that would have to wait
for us!
The second thing I observed on my crazy Halloween night was
that people, mainly kids are greedy. We trick-or-treated at my cousins’
grandparents house and were waiting out in the front for a while, because the
grandparents went inside to have a break, so no one was really watching the
table full of candy. This group of kids came up, noticed no one was watching
the table and grabbed 3 or 4 handfuls of candy, which is ridiculous. And their
parents, well they were sitting waiting in the car for them obviously. But it
irritates me how greedy people are when it comes to free stuff, especially
candy. And it irritates me how lazy people are to actually get out and walk a
few blocks or so, instead of drive everywhere. I remember to fun part of
trick-or-treating was walking from house to house and running into people with
cool different costumes and just enjoying the scenery. I guess it just goes to
show that times have really changed from when I was a kid, and that was only a
few years ago.
No comments:
Post a Comment